Mustard Seed

“For truly I tell you, if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matthew 17:20-21)

Today’s Easter Sunday and it got me thinking about who Jesus is and had me reflecting on my journey as a Christian. I’ve had ups and downs on this journey. I’ve felt heartbroken, betrayed, angry and  confused. I have also felt blessed, amazed, like a part of something much bigger than me. I’ve been head usher, I’ve not gone to church for years at a time, I’ve cleaned chairs and swept the church, I’ve refused to give offerings.

It seems fantastical and illogical for a man to die and come back alive after three days, but I find myself believing this story. I believe it because why not? If Sango can summon lightning and the Wright Brothers could fly on a rickety plane, and there were an infinite amount of probable happenings on Earth, why can’t the Son of God resurrect after three days?


While I have my doubts and criticisms about the organized christian religion and the fallings of the modern church, I have just a little faith that comes from that small part of me that has hope, that very tiny part that wants to do good and save the world. That mustard seed keeps me a follower of Jesus and his teachings.


He came to correct hypocrisy, to teach love, to calm us down and tell us to stop being anxious, to help us with our afflictions, to look on to much bigger things than this world, which is the salvation of our souls.


Today, even with all the doubts and confusion in my mind, I remember who Jesus was and what he stood for, and I am happy he lived at all. Happy Easter, reader.

One Comment Add yours

  1. nisimot says:

    Happy Easter to you too, writer.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment